Header Ads

Breaking News

Deleting Your Facebook Account Could Result in Deletion of Your Oculus Library



(Image: Oculus)

If you recently purchased an Oculus Quest 2 and paired it with your Facebook account, you’ll need to make sure you don’t delete that account in the near future.

Facebook account deletion when tied to an Oculus account currently results in you losing all of your Oculus games. Twitter user Cix brought this to light, as confirmed by UploadVR. It’s an unfortunate part of the Oculus account ecosystem at the moment, and while it’s meant to change at some point in the near future, it’s far from optimal now.

“Deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information,” reads the warning near the account deletion option’s checkbox. “This includes your app purchases and achievements. You will no longer be able to return any apps and will lose any existing store credits.”

Should you continue with deactivating your Facebook account, you’ll lose access to all Oculus products. Though linking Oculus and Facebook accounts are only a requirement for new users at this time, Oculus has indicated that by 2023, it will be a mandatory step for all users to use a Facebook account to log into the Oculus Store and purchase games. With that in mind, the ephemeral nature of Facebook accounts for some may be a frustration.

For those who had previously created an Oculus ID to be used with Oculus headsets before, those accounts will still remain valid until 2023. For now, however, if you’ve created a new account to merge with Facebook, be sure not to deactivate at this time, or use a Facebook account that you don’t mind having potentially locked if things happen to go sour when merging. Some new users have reported issues with their accounts being frozen with initial setup.

The Oculus and Facebook integration has been far from perfect, and this is the latest hiccup in the process for many. For anyone looking to jump into virtual reality with the new headset in the near future, it’s important to exercise prudence at the moment when it comes to account linking, creation, and deletion, at least for the foreseeable future.



Source Link

No comments